Bag-A-Book

This year's flyer

Once a year, my lovely local Library teams up with a local Bookshop and we go ‘Book Bagging’…  I don’t know if your Library does this too but simply put, we head off to a selected Book Shop and they give you a bag and into this bag, you can choose ANY 2 books from the store, for free, to donate to your Library.  The Book Shop pops your name on a book plate, sticks it into the book, laminates it and then sends it on its’ merry way to your selected Library for you and others to borrow and admire your choice!  It really is awesome as you get to browse at your leisure (they always host these events after hours so the only people in there are you and some members of local libraries,) and they usually offer refreshments and, more importantly, discounted personal shopping!  It’s a win-win situation and I look forward to it every year.

This year’s Bag a Book was at ‘Collins Bookseller,’ and I booked two extra spots so I could take Sons 1 & 2 with me (sadly, neither are bookaholics, but I still try my best to encourage their interest!)  As soon as we got there, the lovely lady at the door gave us a bag crammed with promotional flyers and material, and then uttered the dreaded words, “you can choose DVDs to donate this year if you like.”  Well, that was Son #2 sorted!  He completely skipped the book section and veered straight to the DVD section, via the refreshment table!  Son #1 made it to the Book section, at least, but then found 2 Lego books complete with free pouch of Lego, and then he joined his brother at the refreshment stand, and pretty much stayed there until I collected them to go home!

Bagged Goodies

I touched and held so many books before deciding on the 2 I wanted to see at our Library this year – a beautiful new edition of Jane Eyre and an equally beautiful purple edition of The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint Exupéry.  I am so tempted to buy this edition of Jane Eyre for myself too.  I don’t think I can bare not to!  (Front cover shown above; back cover below.)

lovely lilac pages

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fiona
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 22:04:04

    Hey, you love ‘Jane Eyre’ too! It’s my favourite novel.
    I’ve been meaning to go along to one of those Bag-A-Book things for the library so now I know someone who has been to one.
    Love the pic of FTG library. I worked there for about 8 years.
    Good on you for doing this blog. I didn’t realise it was going to be a reading blog.
    Well done!

    Reply

    • BryOak
      Mar 10, 2011 @ 22:17:06

      Thanks for popping on here, Fiona to check out my Blog (yes, a reading one.) I’ve been to 3 of the Bag A Book events now. They’re great. You’ll have to come with me next year. FTG Lib is awesome!

      Reply

  2. Ceinwenn
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 07:38:26

    Wow! What a great idea! Do you have to pay to attend the event? I have never heard of anything like that here in the UK or in my native Canada, but what a fab idea!

    Reply

    • BryOak
      Mar 16, 2011 @ 13:29:32

      It’s free! I’m not sure if the Library pays for it or the bookshop, or maybe they come to some agreement. It’s an awesome thing that happens once a year anyway. Suggest it to your local Library… It may pay off, you never know!

      Reply

  3. shelleyrae@ Book'd Out
    Mar 19, 2011 @ 18:06:50

    What an awesome idea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

