Gotta Love a Book Sale

My lovely neighbour knocked on my door to let me know that her son’s school was having a Car Boot Sale at the weekend and did I want to go with my boys? Never one to miss out a bargain shopping opportunity, off we all went.

We traipsed around for awhile picking up and buying a few bits’n’bobs here and there when all of a sudden, we all had an epiphany… Hubby spotted the coffee van, the boys made a beeline for the playground and I – lucky, lucky I – turned round a corner and found a BOOK SALE!!!!  Who knew?!  I dashed off, barely saying goodbye to the family (I think I may have muttered something like “I’ll be awhile… don’t wait for me…” but who knows or cares if they heard!)  I was a woman on a mission!

The book sale was set up in the gym and someone had gone to a lot of trouble categorising them all and bagging some together (collections and children’s books.)

Sadly, there actually wasn’t much there that I wanted but I did manage to spend the grand total of $8.80 and came home with some new books to add to my overflowing bookshelves.  A happy woman indeed.

Found some Enid books amidst the boxes

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Yvann
    Mar 27, 2011 @ 20:04:12

    Ah, the joy of an unexpected book haul…

    Reply

  2. Jo
    Mar 28, 2011 @ 05:39:40

    Well done on a good few books! I miss book sales.

    Reply

    • BryOak
      Mar 29, 2011 @ 16:28:48

      You don’t go to any anymore? They’re few and far between here but school fetes are usually a good place to find them lurking in a room somewhere.

      Reply

  3. The Book Whisperer
    Mar 28, 2011 @ 22:32:37

    Ahh, there is only one thing I love more than a book sale and that is a book sale that I stumble across without knowing beforehand! It’s like christmas and all my birthdays rolled in to one. Heaven!

    Well done for snaffling some lovely looking books for so little. And you were right to dump the family – one needs to get ones priorities right 😉

    Reply

    • BryOak
      Mar 29, 2011 @ 16:31:29

      Oh we are so on the same page – I also equate bargain book finds to being a ‘big birthday and Christmas rolled into one package’ too!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

