The Ninth Wife

Okay, ask yourself this: If the man you fall in love with, one day tells you that he has been married 8 times before, what would you do? Decide that 9 is your lucky number and go ahead and marry him regardless, or run a mile?? It’s an interesting scenario. Personally, I wouldn’t cope with that many ex-girlfriends, let alone ex-wives, so would like to think I’d run in the opposite direction but I guess common sense doesn’t really come into play once the ‘L’ word rears its’ ugly head…

Beth, the character in Amy Stoll’s soon to be relased book is in that exact position. She decides to go on a road trip (with her Grandparents, her gay neighbour and his dog in tow – yes, that’s all part of the book and actually makes a funny and interesting by-line to the main story) to visit these ex-wives and find out why they think their marrage didn’t last til death them did part.

I liked the idea of this story and as I said, Beth’s Grandparents have their own story which runs alongside and amongst Beth’s search for answers. Incidentally, I can’t stand the Grandmother but the Grandad is lovely and reminded me of my own, minus the creepy mannequins (don’t ask – you have to read the book!)  The gay neighbour (who compares himself and beth to Thelma and Louise!) adds quite a bit of comic relief and is my favourite character in the book.  Beth I found quite needy and whiney but she grew on me as the book went on,  and despite the nine broken marriages, I really liked Rory and actually preferred his ‘voice’ in the book to hers.

This book is Chick Lit at it’s best – a couple of storylines running alongside each other, a road trip, love and it’s tribulations, humour, tears… and would be perfect to take on a long plane journey or a spell by the beach.

‘The Ninth Wife’ will be released July 2011.  Thank you to Harper Collins and http://www.netgalley.com for downloading an advance copy to my Kindle.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Yvann
    May 11, 2011 @ 18:34:24

    I have raced off to NetGalley to try and get a copy of this!

    Reply

  2. readingwithtea
    May 16, 2011 @ 16:18:20

    I couldn’t get it. Shame that Kindle lending doesn’t work outside the USA at the moment!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

