Girl, Missing

I have to admit that apart from having a soft spot for Stephenie Meyer, I am not a huge fan of Young Adult fiction. I find them a tad tedious and lose interest in the plot and writing more often than not. However, every now and then, I come across one that looks interesting enuogh to pick up and give a go. Such is the case with today’s reviewed book, ‘Girl, Missing’ by Sophie McKenzie.  I was at my local Library last week, and as I was checking out my armload of books, I spotted this one sitting all my itself on the Returns table. Always a sucker for a stray book, I ended up taking it home too, and am glad that I did!

‘Girl, Missing’ tells ths story of Lauren who, during a Google session one night, comes across a photo of herself at 3 under the ‘Missing Children’ website.  Her parents are very cagey about it when asked so she takes it upon herself to find out more about the case.  What happens next (she goes from the UK to America to find who she thinks may be her real parents) is all a bit far-fetched but to enable the story to move on, it had to happen.  When she gets to America, there is plenty of action and mystery surrounding her alleged disappearance over 10 years ago, to keep you interested and guessing.  The story involves sibling rivalry (of course – it’s a YA book!), lies and corruption, kidnapping, death threats, dodgy taxi drivers, a near-drowning accident… and of course, no YA book worth its’ salt would be without a potential love interest angle too!

I loved it, despite the cliches and far-fetchedness at times, and actually stayed up late last night to finish it.  I wasn’t disappointed by the ending at all and this book has actually made me rethink the possible potential of reading YA books on a more regular basis.  Thank you, Sophie McKenzie for restoring the faith!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Book Whisperer
    May 13, 2011 @ 19:57:23

    I read this book too when I went on a bit of a YA kick for a month or two after devouring the Twilight books. I really enjoyed it too: I felt it was aimed at younger teenagers though but it didn’t detract from my enjoyment.

    Reply

  2. BryOak
    May 20, 2011 @ 14:53:03

    It’s funny how we all like a YA kick every now and then!

    Reply

  3. Caitlyn
    Jun 12, 2011 @ 21:14:32

    I really enjoyed Girl, Missing 😀
    Great book review
    x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

