Girl in The Mirror

I’ve always been a fan of Cecilia Ahern, so was rather excited to discover a brand new Cecilia book on the ‘new books’ shelf at my lovely local Library yesterday. It’s only a lickle book, and actually contains two stories (novellas, I guess.) The first one I read whilst ‘watching’ my son at Basketball training last night, and the second – The Memory Maker – I read over lunch today. My favourite by far is ‘Girl in The Mirror.’

We are first introduced to Lila, the main character of the story, when she is 11 years old and brings her friend home to meet ‘Grellie’ (Grandma Ellie.)  The visit does not go well and we immediately learn that although Lila is devouted to Grellie, all is not all it appears to be and not all is right in the world (as is often the case in Ahern-world, and one of the reasons why I enjoy her books so much – nothing is what it first appears to be.)  The story then skips 10 years or so into the future, onto the morning of Lila’s Wedding Day.  Something sinister happens in Grellie’s house that changes Lila’s life for ever…  The story is less than 50 pages long, so won’t say anymore, other than to say that I really enjoyed this story.  My only critiscism of it is that it should have been longer and perhaps a novel in its’ own right.  Oh, and one more thing – stay away from mirrors!!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. shelovestoread
    May 22, 2011 @ 00:24:46

    I’ll have to keep a look out for this, i love Cecelia Ahern!

    Reply

  2. Dannielle
    Jun 25, 2011 @ 05:36:41

    I don’t get the ending 😦 You are very right it could have been a novel in its own right!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

