Animalistic!

Bizzarly, the last three books I have read have focused on animals. The first one was the fabulous ‘Water for Elephants’ which is one of my favourite books EVER (and the movie actually did it justice too, I felt.) Then there was S.J.Bolton’s ‘Awakening’ (which heavily features a snake or two – review coming this way very soon) and finally, I’m 20% through (yes, I’m reading it on my Kindle!) ‘The Tenderness of Wolves.’ Mind you, despite the title and being a fifth of the way through the book, there hasn’t been any mention or sightings of wolves so far. Maybe it’s hypothetical and the ‘wolves’ are the people who live in the small, isolated community where the novel is set? Hmmm, interesting premise… Must get to a higher percentage today and see where the book takes me. It’s a pretty interesting read so far. A gruesome murder happens in the opening scenes of the book and then you get to meet a whole bunch of locals and you learn more about each one through another’s thoughts. It’s becoming apparent that they all have some bones rattling around in their cupboards!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Book Whisperer
    Jun 06, 2011 @ 10:25:15

    Books with or about animals usually end up being my favourites! I am a huge animal lover and a sucker for any books with them in. Water for Elephants is one of my faves too (and loved the film, but that was partly for R-Patz as well as Rosie the elephant ;))

    Looking forward to your review of Awakening too.

    Reply

    • BryOak
      Jun 09, 2011 @ 10:56:03

      I never ‘got’ R-Patz in Twilight (I wa smore of a Jacob-girl) but he looked so much better in Elephants and I finally understood the appeal! I wasn’t 100% sold on Reece in the role though… Rosie was fantastic!

      Reply

  2. shelovestoread
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 04:02:21

    I really want to read Water For Elephants, thanks for reminding me about it 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

