Before I Go To Sleep

It’s been done before but I love the whole Groundhog Day movie/book scenarios. This book takes a different slant on it though and tells the story of a woman who has no recollection of anything over the past twenty years, since she was in her early 20’s. Therefore, each morning, she wakes up with no idea who the man is lying next to her (her husband, Ben) nor why her hair is grey, her face wrinkled and her clothes ‘fuddy duddy-ish.’ I look in the mirror every morning and wonder where the ‘creases’ have come from so can barely imagine what a shock it must be to look in the mirror at a face 20 years older than it should be in your head.

Through the means of a journal, she learns a little more about herself each day as she begins the day reading about what she has learnt the previous day before she fell asleep and forgot it all. The first line she reads every morning is ‘Don’t Trust Ben.’ Doesn’t bode well for the rest of her day, does it? As a reader, you are made suspicious of Ben through the use of those 3 words alone. However, through the journal and the story itself, you are aware of other characters and to the reader, they are equally as innocent and perversely, untrustworthy, as Ben is (who comes across as a patient, honest man.) All of this leave little chills through the little hairs at the back of your neck. Definitely my type of book!

Towards the end, I figured out what was going on (others of you will no doubt suss it all out much sooner but I’m a ‘lazy’ reader and never try to guess who the murderer is in a crime book, for example, as I like the author to just tell me what’s going on and I like to just let the story pour slowly over me.) The book did leave me with a couple of unanswered questions at the end , which was a little annoying but not frustrating enough to stop my enjoyment of the book, which I really did enjoy.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joanne
    Jun 26, 2011 @ 01:38:33

    This sounds great. Like you I never try to guess the murderer in a mystery novel, I prefer to be surprised at the end.

    Reply

  2. Jo
    Jun 27, 2011 @ 05:08:59

    This has been publicised a lot lately. Think it might be one for the pile!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

