not-so Wicked Witch of the West

I finally finished it and have to admit to being disappointed. I am so angry at myself though as there’s no reason why I shouldn’t have loved this book. Judging by the cover, this is a book that should have been right up my Diagon Alley – witches, wizards, mystical and mythical lands, and bright green pages… what’s not to like??

I loved the start of the book and was really pulled into the story of the bright green baby with the vicious teeth. Somehow though, I lost my way (either I did or the book did.) I was not as interested in the Elphaba that goes to school as I was in the younger version of herself and as she grew older, the less interested I became. I was talking to a friend of mine about it, who had seen the show but not read the book, and she felt that she wasn’t Wicked enough (Elphie, not Narelle!) I agree. Sue from Glee is more wicked!

To be honest, I have never read nor seen The Wizard of Oz, so maybe that is one reason why I didn’t enjoy this book so much. For people who have seen or read Wizard of Oz and Wicked, do you think it is necessary to know the story and characters to enjoy Wicked to the max?

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lucybird
    Sep 04, 2011 @ 21:15:46

    I wasn’t very impressed with Wicked, you’re right Elphaba wasn’t wicked enough, and I didn’t even think it explain very well why she was ‘wicked’ which was my main expectation of the book!

    Reply

  2. BryOak
    Sep 05, 2011 @ 11:32:57

    Yes, you’re right. It didn’t really explain how she became so wicked nor why. Her life didn’t seem that bad, did it? And I actually liked her – that shouldn’t be, should it?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

