Pictures of You – Caroline Leavitt

“Two women running away from their marriages collide on a foggy highway.  The survivor of the fatal accident is left to pick up the pieces not only of her life but of the lives of the devastated husband and fragile son the other woman leaves behind…”

I read about this book and thought it sounded pretty interesting, so requested it from my lovely local Library. I picked it up and read it in a couple of days as it really is a quick, easy read.  It reminded me at the start of Jodi Picoult or Anne Tyler, both of whom I’m a fan of.  Unlike a Picoult book though, this one didn’t have as many mini stories and threads running alongside each other, which I always love in a book.  Having said that, the main story was interesting enough to keep the book going and I liked the element of mystery that surrounded the unlucky woman and why she was actually running away.  It’s no great surprise when the reason is revealed and as we never get to meet this character in the present tense, it isn’t too devastating to find out why.  I felt the end was a little rushed and sketchy but it was a neat, tidy ending so I’m a happy camper!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. debbie
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 22:23:47

    I liked the sound of this but they don’t have it in my library. Am now reading Girls in trouble by the same author (about a teenage girl who has her baby adopted then changes her mind) and thats very good so will continue to look out for this.Thanks for the recomendation

    Reply

  2. BryOak
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 13:03:14

    Girls in Trouble sounds interesting. Will look out for it. Hope you find Pictures of You soon – I got mine from the Library, otherwise I’d have sent you my copy 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

