Ravishing Radleys

And here I find myself, once more, reading yet another Vampire-esque book! The last one I read was the fangtastic ‘Twelve’ and my most recent one being Matt Haig’s ‘The Radleys’ which is a far scream from Twelve but equally likeable and much funnier (although Twelve is one of my favourite books at the moment and cannot compare the pair without always putting it on top.) I was very excited to receive in today’s mail, Twelve’s sequel, ‘Thirteen Years Later’ and can’t wait to get sucked and bitten into that one! Anyway, I digress…

Set in a suburban neighbourhood, the Radleys are far from being  your typical English family – or are they?  Have you noticed any odd behaviour being exhibited by your neighbours recently?? – as they try their utmost to abstain from their natural desires.  Eating raw steaks, allergies to garlic, skin irritations which means they have to be plastered every second of the dya in sunscreen…  Their story is scattered with extracts and quotes from ‘The Abstainer’s handbook’ which is hilarious.  Mr & Mrs Radley have never told their two children, Rowan and Clara what they really are.  Rowan is a tortured soul, who writes poetry and can’t understand why he can’t sleep at night, and is bullied on a daily basis for being ‘a freak’.  His sister is a vegetarian who can’t understand why animals seem to hate her and run a mile when she approaches them, and lives with a constant headache and bad skin.  Then one night, something happens, which involves Clara that changes life in the Radley household once and for all.

I loved this book.  It is quirky and witty, and certainly turns the run of the mill vampire stories and myths slap bang on their head!  A book to be devoured in one sitting.  I think I have another of Matt Haig’s books sitting unread on my shelf.  Must find it and see if it’s as funnily brilliant as this one.  Has anyone else read his books?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joanne
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 05:26:45

    I’ve got this one on my TBR list, I think it sounds great.

    Reply

  2. BryOak
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 07:50:10

    It IS great. Really witty and original. Oh, and it’s a really quick read too a sit has my all-time favourite thing – short chapters!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

