Mice come out to play….

I read the fantastic Mice by Gordon Reece in one sitting and loved it. The story goes like this – teenage girl bullied at her high school.  When things go that one step too far, she and her mother up sticks and move  to a remote part of the countryside where their house is the only one for miles around. Sound like the perfect escape? It is… until one night when someone comes knocking at the door and their whole world is turned upside down again.
This book has been selected as one of this year’s ’50 Books You Can’t Put Down’ by the Australian Government’s ‘Get reading’ scheme, and I can understand why.  It makes you think, it’s an interesting subject matter, it grips you and as much as you like the main characters, they do things which really annoy you too.  I love that in a book.  If I start yelling at them in my head, then I know the author has ‘got’ me!  I don’t want to write anymore for fear of giving anything away.  Part of the charm of this book is that you don’t know what’s going to happen.  If you haven’t come across it yet, then I suggest that you do so pretty quick.

Oh, and if anyone would like a copy of this year’s 50 Books You Can’t Put Down booklet, post a message on this posting and let me know of a book that you found hard to put down…

Leave a Reply

