Black Swan Rising

This is my second bite of the Transworld Publisher’s pie (Reading Challenge) and a very happy chomper I am!  The first book I received and read for the challenge has been added to my list of all-time favourite books, and although Lee Carroll’s ‘Black Swan Rising’ hasn’t joined that rather prestigious list, I did enjoy it and am looking forward to reading its’ sequel, ‘The Watchtower.’

‘Black Swan Rising’ has some of my favourite book ingredients in it – magic (of course!), a scattering of bad-boy romance, danger, shops that mysteriously appear and disappear, ancient ‘bling’ that hold many a mystery within, a crazy father (who is actually a lot more keyed-in than anyone realises,) New York, oh and the odd vampire or fairy scattered along the way for good measure…  However, as much as I liked this book, I didn’t ‘love’ it, which surprised me as I’m usually more than happy with a book that has one or two of the above elements, and this book certainly had some lovely touches.  Cute things like a bag of homemade warm scones that refill over night, so there’s always a bag full to eat.  Now that’s the kind of magic I could do with in my life!

Garet, the main character comes across as being quite young but this isn’t actually a YA book and she is, I guess, meant to be in her early 30’s?  I liked her but woudlnt’ be in  any rush to invite her round for scones and jam.  It is a tad annoying how she learns and masters her new skills with too much ease and how very accepting she is of everything that is thrown at her (when she’s not busy spilling her guts about everything that happens to her to any Tom, Dick or policeman who happens to cross her path) but yet she thinks her Dad’s ‘ramblings’ are those of a senile old man.  Hmm.

It is a fun, easy read though and I will be reading the sequel too.  I also like the sound of Lee Carroll’s other book, ‘Incubus’ which is described as ‘a dar, sexy gothic fairytale.’  I assume that it’s a standalone, so will keep an eye out for that one too. has anyone else read any Lee Carroll books?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. shelovestoread
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 07:43:15

    yay! I loved this book too 🙂 need to get my hands on the sequal!

    Reply

  2. Joanne
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 22:45:29

    I’ve read this one too and I think I had a similar reaction to you. What I felt was that the authors already had the sequel in mind, and so this one was just kind of a set up to the next one. I did enjoy it though, and am looking forward to The Watchtower.

    Reply

  3. BryOak
    Oct 17, 2011 @ 09:10:07

    I agree, Joanne. It felt like the writing was ‘guarded’ and they didn’t want to give too much away, thereby making room for the sequel!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

