The Tiger’s Wife

This book has been waiting patiently on Charlotte (Kindle) to be read, for some time now. I finally got round to reading it and have to admit to being glad to have finished it today. It will not be ranking as one of my all-time favourites (sorry, Ms.Obreht.) Don’t get me wrong, it is a very well written book and comes across as being well researched and thorough. The characters just didn’t interest me enough and as beautifully crafted as it was, I didn’t find the flow between ‘sections’ particularly smooth.

The story is, however, an intriguing one and woven throughout with folk tales and superstitions from when it was set (around the time of the second World War, in a country which I think may be Croatia or Bosnia?)  The book tells  3 main stories – one set in the present which sees 20 year old Natalia, a doctor, searching for her dead Grandfather’s missing possessions, while unravelling the mystery of his final days; then we have the story of Natalia as a child, growing up with her Grandfather, the village Doctor, as he educates her of the world and life; and there is also the story – my favourite, and truth be told, the ONLY one I liked – of the Grandfather as a young boy growing up in a village full of tigers, elephants and other fabled delights.  It is in this ‘story’ that we meet the Tiger’s Wife whose story is particularly interesting and I understand fully why the whole book was named after her.

I only wish the whole book had been about the tiger’s wife and the Grandfather as a child and then I would have loved it, I’m sure.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DLCS Management
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 01:49:08

    I loved the book and found it very exciting..I thought I would have something to read in my Christmas vacation but I finished it in 2 days ’cause I couldn’t put it away. She describes the Balkans beautifully, gives beautiful details on local history and I must admit I found the end a bit unsatisfying but untill the last page I found the book amazing…

    Reply

  2. BryOak
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 02:40:05

    You obviously liked it a lot more than I did! I do agree though that the sense of place and descriptions are quite beautiful. There’s one scene that I love where she describes the Grandmother’s kitchen in such detail, it just had to be a kitchen she had personal experience of as it was just so realistic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

