Sister

I loved this book. It is a very clever, well-planned book with a fantastic twist at the end. It had me screaming at the main character in parts as I seemed to value her life more than she did! When the twist happened, it forced me to rethink quite a few elements of the book. When I woke up three days after I’d finished the book thinking about a particluar scene and realising that maybe it wasn’t what I’d first thought it was, then I knew I’d found a great book and author.

The story is told by one main character,Beatrice, following the disappearance of her sister, Tess.  Everyone believes that Tess killed herself but Beatrice says no one knew her sister like she did and she goes all out to prove that it was a case of murder, not suicide and is determined to track down the killer herself.  The story is told exclusively through Beatrice’s eyes as she hosts monologues in her head to Tess, and as she shares the conversations she has with their mother, the police and Tess’ work colleagues.  It is a great read and thriller, and I urge you to read it too and see what you make of the ending.

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. debbie
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 23:08:19

    I really liked this one too. I do love a good thriller, I think her secon ook Afterwards is even better so give it a try at some point

    Reply

  2. BryOak
    Jan 21, 2012 @ 20:01:01

    Thanks, Debbie. ‘Afterwards’ has now been added to my ever-increasing Wish List!

    Reply

  3. readingwithtea
    Feb 06, 2012 @ 01:10:03

    How did you get on with the ending? I loved this book and then the ending made me really annoyed!

    Reply

    • BryOak
      Feb 07, 2012 @ 22:07:45

      I actually liked the ending. I hadn’t seen it coming until close to the end. I spent a few days thinking about it afterwards and rethinking many parts of the book, which were clearly not what they first appeared to be. Why were you annoyed by it? Were you expecting this twist or not?

      Reply

  4. readingwithtea
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 23:44:43

    I wasn’t expecting the twist (that didn’t bother me) – it was the ambiguity of whether she gets out or not that annoyed me! If she dies, how has she told the story? If she lives,…? I just… it was a nothing ending for me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

