‘So Much Pretty,’ so much violence.

This is a creepy, sinister and dark read… and I loved it. I have to admit that it took me awhile to get into it but once I was there, I couldn’t read it fast enough. The last time that happened to me with a book was when I read ‘The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.’  I almost threw TGWTDT away after the first few chapters but I persevered and so glad I did as it is one of my all-time favourite books. Funnily enough, on the cover of ‘So Much Pretty,’ Booklist compares it to a ‘mixture of ‘The Lovely Bones’ and ‘The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.’

The story of ‘So Much Pretty’ is about Wendy, a nineteen year-old waitress living a small-town life in Haeden, New York.  The story is about so much more than Wendy though.  Her story is the catalyst for what else happens in the book, which is told though the eyes of a few different characters, all of whom are fascinating.  My favourite is Alice.  She was at school the same time as Wendy but now Wendy’s tortured and violated body has been found, 6 months after her disappearance.  No one in the town is talking but someone sure knows something.  We only get to really hear Wendy’s voice once in the book and it is the chilliest, darkest chapter I have read in a book for a long time.

I don’t want to write more about Alice as she is essential to the whole book and I would hate to give something away inadvertently.  On a side note though, I don’t think I’ve mentioned on ‘Reading in the Bath’ so far that when I read a book, I always look forward to deciphering or finding out in the book how it got its’ title.  Some are obvious but others are more subtle.  This one was hidden in one of the many little conversations that happen in the book, which make you feel just a little shiver creeping along just underneath the skin:

“A man can only take so much pretty walking back and forth in front of him.”  He said pretty like he meant something else.

Leave a Reply

