Anne of Green Gables

Awhile ago, I had an eyebrow raised at me by a friend when I said that I had never read, watched or even knew much about, Anne of Green Gables.  As quite often seems to happen to me – and other people too, I assume? – once I start thinking about something, I seem to see it everywhere.  This was certainly true with Anne of Green Gables, which I take as a good omen and one that is telling me to read the book(s)!

It started when I was supervising a test at my son’s school, which happened to be in their library, where I just happened to be sitting next to a shelf where there was an old copy of Anne of Green Gables, just calling out to me!

Later that day, whilst browsing an online bookshop, I came across an Anne book, which matched the series of children’s books that I have been slowly collecting, so had to order it straight away, of course!

To finish the ‘Anne messages’ I have been receiving, I was browsing around the Kindle Store on Charlotte and found all eight (there are 8?!  That was a big surprise to me!) books for a measly 99cents, so these were downloaded pronto too.

I started reading the Kindle version of Anne as soon as I got it but found it was too much of a ‘comfort’, nostalgic read that it seemed wrong to be reading it on such a new, technologically-advanced device.  I found my brand new ‘Classic Puffin Paperback’ – as much as I love the front cover and foreword by one of my fave children’s authors, Lauren Child – just ‘too’ new and crisp, so decided to sneak back into my son’s school library and borrow the well-thumbed, musty smelling, stained and bent paged 1964 version.  Shh!.. don’t tell the school Librarian!

Oh, the comfort!  To Avonlea I go…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. shelovestoread
    Aug 10, 2012 @ 01:16:54

    i’ve only read the first book when i was a child, but now im going to read them all 😀

    Reply

  2. BryOak
    Aug 19, 2012 @ 14:10:42

    I’m actually finding it quite hard work as Anne is really starting to get up my nose. I hope she snaps out of it sometime soon! I think I may have to watch the movie and see if I warm to her more on screen.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

